Brady Voted Unanimous All-Pro; Mangold, Revis Represent NY

NEW YORK (WFAN/AP) — It’s unanimous. And Tom Brady has outdone even himself.

The record-setting Patriots quarterback is the leading vote-getter for The Associated Press 2010 NFL All-Pro Team, the seventh straight year at least one player has gotten every vote. Three years ago, when Brady set the league record for touchdown passes, he missed by a half-vote of being unanimous, sharing a ballot with Brett Favre.

As usual, Brady prefered to deflect praise to the rest of the Patriots, who went 14-2 this season before losing in the playoffs to the Jets.

“I’ve been here for a while, so I’ve seen our offense evolve,” Brady said. “We do some different things now than we’ve done in the past. Ultimately we’re still trying to do the same thing, which is be productive and win games.”

Brady won those 14 games as the league’s leading passer, and he went a record 335 attempts without an interception. Overall, he threw for 36 touchdowns and had just four picks.

Brady is one of three New England players selected to the squad by a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the NFL. He is joined by guard Logan Mankins and inside linebacker Jerod Mayo.

A player has made the team unanimously since 2004, including one of this year’s All-Pros, Baltimore safety Ed Reed. The Ravens also have defensive tackle Haloti Ngata and kicker Billy Cundiff on the team.

Along with Reed, making his fifth All-Pro squad, Ngata, Ndamukong Suh and Mayo on defense are ends Julius Peppers and John Abraham; outside linebackers Clay Matthews of Green Bay and James Harrison of Pittsburgh; inside linebacker Patrick Willis of San Francisco; cornerbacks Nnamdi Asomugha of Oakland and Darrelle Revis of the Jets; and safety Troy Polamalu of Pittsburgh.

Defensive repeaters from 2009 are Willis and Revis.

Polamalu, Peppers and Willis make it for the third time, Abraham, Harrison and Asomugha for the second.

Up front are Mankins and New Orleans’ Jahri Evans at guard, Miami’s Jake Long and Cleveland’s Joe Thomas at tackle, and center Nick Mangold of the New York Jets. Evans, Thomas and Mangold are repeaters from last season. Long and Mankins are first-timers.

One rookie made AP All-Pro: Detroit defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh.

“It’s a great honor and it’s an award I’ve had my eye on, along with being in the Pro Bowl,” Suh said. “Those are two of the highest accomplishments you can have other than winning a Super Bowl and being MVP. To be the only rookie speaks volumes about the help I got from my teammates — especially on the defensive line — and my coaches.”

Suh’s work, including 10 sacks that ranked him tops at his position, so impressed longtime defensive coach Gunther Cunningham that the Lions coordinator said, “I’ve never seen anything like this and a lot of people want to compare him,” he said. “There’s no comparison.”

It’s also difficult to compare Oakland’s Shane Lechler to other punters. Lechler has the most All-Pro selections of anyone on the 2010 team, six.

The AFC is the dominant conference with 18 of the 27 spots: nine on offense, seven on defense, two special teamers.

Joining Brady in the backfield is one of the season’s biggest surprises, Houston running back Arian Foster. He went from a nonentity with the Texans to the league’s leading rusher with 1,616 yards and 16 TDs. The other tailback is Kansas City’s Jamaal Charles, like Foster a first-time choice.

Foster’s lead blocker, Vonta Leach, is the fullback, also for the first time.

The wide receivers are Atlanta’s Roddy White and Indianapolis’ Reggie Wayne, both newcomers. White led the league with 115 catches.

Dallas tight end Jason Witten made it for the second time.

Cundiff and Lechler are joined on special teams by Chicago returner Devin Hester, who also was an All-Pro in 2006 and 2007. This season, Hester’s 17.1-yard punt return average set a record, and he passed Brian Mitchell for career kick return touchdowns with 14.

In all, 10 AFC teams and eight from the NFC are represented. Chicago and Atlanta are the only two NFC clubs with two players.

Did the voters make a glaring omission? Sound off in the comments below…


Quarterback – Tom Brady, New England.

Running Backs – Jamaal Charles, Kansas City; Arian Foster, Houston.

Fullback – Vonta Leach, Houston.

Tight End – Jason Witten, Dallas.

Wide Receivers – Roddy White, Atlanta; Reggie Wayne, Indianapolis.

Tackles – Jake Long, Miami; Joe Thomas, Cleveland.

Guards – Logan Mankins, New England; Jahri Evans, New Orleans.

Center – Nick Mangold, New York Jets.

Kicker – Billy Cundiff, Baltimore.

Kick Returner – Devin Hester, Chicago.


Ends – Julius Peppers, Chicago; John Abraham, Atlanta.

Tackles – Haloti Ngata, Baltimore; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit.

Outside Linebackers – Clay Matthews, Green Bay; James Harrison, Pittsburgh.

Inside Linebacker – Patrick Willis, San Francisco; Jerod Mayo, New England.

Cornerbacks – Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland; Darrelle Revis, New York Jets.

Safeties – Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh; Ed Reed, Baltimore.

Punter – Shane Lechler, Oakland.


Quarterback – Vacant.

Running Backs – Michael Turner, Atlanta; Adrian Peterson, Minnesota.

Fullback – Ovie Mughelli, Atlanta.

Tight End – Antonio Gates, San Diego.

Wide Receivers – Brandon Lloyd, Denver; Calvin Johnson, Detroit, and Dwayne Bowe, Kansas City (tie).

Tackles – Jason Peters, Philadelphia; Sebastian Vollmer, New England.

Guards – Chris Snee, New York Giants; Carl Nicks, New Orleans.

Center – Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.

Kicker – David Akers, Philadelphia.

Kick Returner – Leon Washington, Seattle.


Ends – Osi Umenyiora, New York Giants; Justin Tuck, New York Giants.

Tackles – Vince Wilfork, New England; Kyle Williams, Buffalo.

Outside Linebackers – Cameron Wake, Miami; DeMarcus Ware, Dallas.

Inside Linebackers – Brian Urlacher, Chicago; Ray Lewis, Baltimore.

Cornerbacks – Devin McCourty, New England; Charles Woodson, Green Bay.

Safeties – Nick Collins, Green Bay; and Antrel Rolle, New York Giants, Eric Weddle, San Diego, Malcolm Jenkins, New Orleans, Quintin Mikell, Philadelphia, Chris Harris, Chicago, Michael Huff, Oakland, Michael Griffin, Tennessee, and Darren Sharper, New Orleans (tie).

Punter – Mat McBriar, Dallas.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press.

pixy Brady Voted Unanimous All Pro; Mangold, Revis Represent NY

One Comment

  1. B. Pete says:

    I know all those 20 and they said they did, so this makes the voting UNANIMOUS.
    Don’t be a hater. The man threw 36 TDs and ONLY 4 interceptions, the best in the NFL this year. You’re upset because your covergirl Sanchez does not rate.

    1. Pete B. says:

      Ok so you’re just one of those brady sluping fools that think he’s the second comming of life. i don’t think every NFL fan or all the payers voted for him so sorry to say he didn’t get all the votes. I’t just the NFL wanted to toss there golden boy a bone because they got bounced again in the first playoff game they played for the second year in a row. i did’t vote for Sanchez because his numbers were not good enough.

      1. B. Pete says:

        you sound very bitter. You’re definitely jealous of Brady’s success. What is it? his fame? His 3 Super Bowl rings? His looks? His gorgeous wife? All of the above mentioned? So you would not vote for Sanchez because his numbers were not good enough and you would not vote for Brady who’s numbers were the best in the NFL. You’re stupid. You must were a special helmet. You do not have any sense at all. The voter knew what they were doing, you well, seek help

  2. Pete B says:

    i know 20 people that didn’t vote for Brady so how can his vote be as the title says ” Unanimous” I think the person the wrote this needs to look up what the word unanimous means.

Comments are closed.

More From CBS New York

Get Our Morning Briefs

Listen Live