By Sean Adams

MAHWAH, NJ (CBS 2 / WCB S880) — If you’re driving a snow-covered car in New Jersey Tuesday, you’re risking a hefty fine.

WCBS 880 reporter Sean Adams along Route 17 in Mahwah

This is the first winter since a new state law took effect, holding drivers responsible for clearing snow and ice from their vehicles, and police have been writing citations.

Around 1,800 were issued by the end of January.

Basic fines range from $25 to $75, but they can go from from $200 to $1,000 if flying ice and snow from your car damages a vehicle or hurts somebody.

More From CBS New York

Bracket Challenge
Download Weather App

Watch & Listen LIVE