New Jersey Lawmakers Push For ‘Caylee’s Law’ For Missing Children
TRENTON, NJ (AP) - New Jersey lawmakers are proposing a law that would require parents to report a missing child within 24 hours.
“Caylee’s Law” would also make it a felony not to report a death or to disturb the body.
Assemblyman John Wisniewski says the bill will help police find abducted children and assist in death investigations.
Similar bills have popped up across the country in the aftermath of Casey Anthony’s acquittal last week on charges of murdering her 2-year-old daughter Caylee. The Florida mother didn’t report Caylee missing for more than a month, and later said she died accidently.
At least 16 states, including Florida, New York and Texas, have introduced a version of the law.
(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)