NEW YORK (CBSNewYork/AP) — New York City has unveiled 15 new names at the Police Memorial Wall in Battery Park.

Mayor Michael Bloomberg and Police Commissioner Ray Kelly presided over the ceremony Thursday for officers who died in the line of duty last year.

Thirteen of the officers got sick after the 9/11 rescue and recovery effort. Two others died after violent encounters in Brooklyn.

Detective Peter Figoski was responding to a burglary in East New York. Officer Alain Schaberger was answering a domestic violence call.

“For 15 years this wall has served as a powerful and lasting tribute to fallen members of the Finest,” Bloomberg said in a statement.

“We commemorate the lives of 15 officers who, in service to the people of this city, have earned their rightful place on this wall of heroes,” Kelly said in a statement. “They will be remembered forever in the hearts of their colleagues and friends, by the people of New York City and by all who visit here.”

The names added to the memorial wall are:

  • Detective Peter Figoski
  • Police Officer Alain Schaberger
  • Capt. Barry Galfano
  • Lt. Jacqueline McCarthy
  • Sgt. Charles Clark
  • Sg. Harold Smith
  • Detective Kevin Czartoryski
  • Detective John Goggin
  • Detective Edwin Ortiz
  • Detective Joseph Seabrook
  • Police Officer Robert Ehmer
  • Police Officer Edward Ferraro
  • Police Officer David Mahmoud
  • Police Officer Martin Tom
  • Police Officer George Wong

The Police Memorial is located at Liberty Street and South End Avenue and was dedicated in October, 1997.

(TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

Watch & Listen LIVE