TRENTON, N.J. (CBSNewYork) — The federal government has extended public assistance to all 21 counties in New Jersey in the wake of Superstorm Sandy, Gov. Chris Christie announced Sunday.

Previously, only 10 counties – Atlantic, Bergen, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Somerset and Union – had been approved for both public and individual assistance.

Christie’s office urged those affected by the storm to apply for assistance if needed. FEMA can provide residents with temporary housing, repair and replacement, and other needs such as disaster unemployment insurance, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

Anyone in need of federal aid can register by phone at (800) 621-FEMA, or TTY (800) 462-7585. Specialists are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week.

Registration is also available online. Those in need can also apply through their smart phones by apply visiting through their Web browser and following the link to “apply online for federal assistance.”

Please share your comments below…

Watch & Listen LIVE