Hockey Writers Mistakenly Vote Ovechkin To First And Second Team

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — The NHL announced their First Team and Second Team All-Star selections as voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.

Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers was voted as the Second Team goaltender. He finished behind Vezina Trophy winner Sergei Bobrovsky.

The First Team reads as follows: Left Wing — Chris Kunitz of the Pittsburgh Penguins, Center — Sidney Crosby of the Penguins, Right Wing — Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals, Defensemen — Ryan Suter of the Minnesota Wild and P.K. Subban of the Montreal Canadiens, Goaltender — Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets.

New York Islanders center John Tavares missed out completely as he finished fourth in center voting behind Crosby, Jonathan Toews and Steven Stamkos. Tavares also fell short in Hart Trophy voting.

The Second Team reads as follows: Left Wing — Alex Ovechkin of the Capitals, Center — Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks, Right Wing — Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Defensemen — Francois Beauchemin of the Anaheim Ducks and Kris Letang of the Pittsburgh Penguins, Goaltender — Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers.

That’s right, a number of hockey writers made the mistake of voting Ovechkin as a left winger. The Hart Trophy winner played the 2012-13 season as a right winger.

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories

Watch & Listen LIVE