ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) — The New York Senate’s new Republican majority has given committee chairmanships to three Democrats who split earlier from their party’s main caucus.

Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos, a Long Island Republican, has named Senator Jeff Klein, a Bronx Democrat, to chair the Committee on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse and Sen. Diane Savino, a Staten Island Democrat, to chair the Committee on Children and Families.

Skelos’ appointments Tuesday include Democratic Sen. David Valesky of Oneida to chair the Committee on Aging.

The Republicans resumed control of the chamber with a 32-30 majority after the fall elections following two years of Democratic control when two Republican senators were given committee chairmanships.

(Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Comments (2)
  1. MasterLeeMochow says:

  2. Carlos Liriano says:

    God created them and the devil got then=m together in Albany to ruin our great state

Leave a Reply