NEW YORK (WFAN) — The panel has spoken.

Flushing has hosted its fair share of stars, so it should come as no surprise that SNY’s all-time team has inspired some debate among Mets fans.

READ MORE: TIMELINE: Nor'easter Could Bring More Than A Foot Of Snow To Long Island & Jersey Shore; Up To 8 Inches To NYC

Mike Piazza at catcher over Jerry Grote or the late Gary Carter? Carlos Beltran? But one call from the decision-makers, which included Mets broadcasters Howie Rose and Gary Cohen, might have caused the biggest stir.

Davey Johnson, who led New York to its second World Series title in 1986, was named the 50th anniversary all-time manager over Miracle Mets skipper Gil Hodges.

“That’s a huge mistake,” said WFAN’s Evan Roberts, broadcasting live Monday from the all-time team celebration alongside co-host Joe Benigno. The squad was announced by SNY on Sunday night.

“I’m with you,” replied Benigno. “Look, I understand that Davey was the manager over the best run in Mets history … but to me it’s gotta be Gil Hodges. Gotta be Gil Hodges! I mean, he turned this franchise from a laughing stock into a world champion and, you know, who knows how it would have went if Gil didn’t suddenly pass away at the beginning of that 1972 season!”

Without further ado, the rest of the Mets all-time team:


Davey Johnson

READ MORE: Funeral Held For NYPD Det. Jason Rivera, 22-Year-Old Killed In Line Of Duty In Harlem


Mike Piazza (C)
Keith Hernandez (1B)
Edgardo Alfonzo (2B)
Jose Reyes (SS)
David Wright (3B)


Darryl Strawberry (RF)
Cleon Jones (LF)
Carlos Beltran (CF)


Tom Seaver (RHP)
Jerry Koosman (LHP)


Roger McDowell (RHP)
Tug McGraw (LHP)

MORE NEWS: Approaching Winter Storm Impacting Flights Nationwide

Do you have an issue with the all-time team? What would you change? Be heard in the comments below!