TORONTO (AP) — Twelve-time All-Star Joe Sakic was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame on Tuesday in his first year of eligibility, joining Mats Sundin, Pavel Bure and Adam Oates as the newest class of inductees.

The four former NHL stars were chosen by the hall’s 18-member selection committee. The induction ceremony will be held on Nov. 12.

Sakic had 625 goals and 1,016 assists in his 20-year NHL career, all with Colorado Avalanche franchise dating to 1988 when it was the Quebec Nordiques.

Sundin, also selected in his first year of eligibility, had 564 goals and 785 assists in his 18-year career — including 13 with the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Bure, who retired after the 2002-03 season due to chronic knee injuries, registered 437 goals and 779 points over 702 games in 12 NHL seasons played with Vancouver, Florida and the Rangers. He never won the Stanley Cup, but he did reach the Stanley Cup Finals as a member of the Canucks who lost to the Rangers in 1994.

Oates, who was named the head coach of the Washington Capitals earlier today, is known as one of the greatest passers in League history. He also never won the Stanley Cup, but he dished out 1,079 assists and added 341 goals for 1,420 points over 1,337 career games played with Detroit, Boston, Washington, Philadelphia, Anaheim and Edmonton.

Brendan Shanahan, the NHL’s head disciplinarian and vice president of hockey and business development, was a surprising omission from the soon-to-be-inducted class. He’ll have to wait at least one more year to be selected for the Hockey Hall of Fame.

(TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2011 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)


Leave a Reply