NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — As the Hurricane Sandy Frankenstorm approached, President Barack Obama issued a federal emergency declaration for the State of New York and New Jersey.

The declaration means the state and local governments can receive federal assistance for the costs of evacuation, sheltering and other measures.

READ MORE: NYPD Officer Jason Rivera Fatally Shot, Officer Wilbert Mora Critically Injured Responding To Harlem Domestic Dispute

“Once again, I thank the President for his quick response to my request for a federal emergency declaration which will apply to the entire State of New York,” Gov. Andrew Cuomo said in a news release. “We appreciate the federal government’s support as we continue to prepare for Hurricane Sandy.”

With the declaration, the Federal Emergency Management Agency may identify, mobilize and provide equipment and resources as needed.

READ MORE: 'The Loss Of A Hero': New York Mourns Death Of 22-Year-Old NYPD Officer Jason Rivera

Later Sunday night, Obama also signed a disaster declaration for New Jersey, as earlier requested by Gov. Chris Christie.

Obama has also signed emergency declarations for Maryland, Massachusetts and the District of Columbia.

MORE NEWS: Lashawn McNeil, Suspect In Deadly Harlem Police Shooting, Was On Probation, Had 5 Prior Arrests

Share your comments below…