NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — President Barack Obama has won the 29 electoral votes commanded by the state of New York, CBS News has projected.

The polls in New York closed at 9 p.m. Based on county results, Obama has been declared the winner.

New York voters have picked the Democrat in every election since 1988. The state last picked a Republican in 1984, when voters chose President Ronald Reagan over Democratic challenger Walter Mondale.