Can you believe it’s been a decade since Kelly Clarkson won American Idol and launched her career? Neither can she. As the singer steps into her 30s and celebrates 10 years of making music, she will release Greatest Hits – Chapter One on Monday, November 19.

Much of the focus of the album will be her pop material–that is, after all, what she built her career upon. However, she has been dabbling more and more in country music (even moving to Nashville this year). And two songs on Greatest Hits will showcase this side of her musical persona.

Perhaps the most obvious to make the cut is “Don’t You Wanna Stay,” her duet with Jason Aldean that won two ACM awards this year. The second, though, is a new song called “Don’t Rush”–another duet, this time featuring Vince Gill.

“It’s sexy retro-country,” Clarkson said of the latter song in a statement, “and as soon I heard it, I put the song on hold. My goal as a singer is to capture the sentiment of a song and emote what the feeling is. I’m in a relationship and super happy, and I don’t think I would have been able to sing this song eight months ago. Love should be celebrated, and this is a great description of where I’m at in my life.”

Another new song on the album is “Catch My Breath.” Clarkson wrote the pop song specifically for this album, about putting her first greatest hits collection together. And she’s just released a video for the song as well.

The video is an appropriately low-key production. Keeping it simple, we see only Clarkson in a black column gown by Martin Margiela, with key-hole cutouts on top plus a gold belt carefully matched to her ringed fingers and complimenting her hair color, with the wind blowing through her hair on a soundstage. As the video progresses, all four of the elements make an appearance: fire, water, water and Clarkson herself seems to stand in for earth.

She also appears in a black pantsuit and a white, yellow and brown faux fur short sleeved jacket, the latter looking very much like a Rachel Zoe styled item.

Her makeup features light lips and a smokey eye that isn’t heavy. The focus seems to be her eyelashes — they draw you in to give the impression that into the windows of her soul is exactly where Clarkson wants you to look.

This is the most glommed up we’ve seen Clarkson in a video in some time. The singer embraces a grown up look to mark a very grown up moment in her career, to great effect.

“Catch My Breath,” “Don’t Rush,” and “Don’t You Wanna Stay” all appear on Clarkson’s upcoming collection Greatest Hits — Chapter One, which is set to hit stores on Monday.

Greatest Hits — Chapter One tracklist:

1. Since U Been Gone
2. My Life Would Suck Without You
3. Miss Independent
4. Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)
5. Behind These Hazel Eyes
6. Because Of You
7. Never Again
8. Already Gone
9. Mr. Know It All
10. Breakaway
11. Don’t You Wanna Stay (with Jason Aldean)
12. Walk Away
13. Catch My Breath
14. People Like Us
15. Don’t Rush (featuring Vince Gill)
16. A Moment Like This
17. I’ll Be Home For Christmas

– Courtney E. Smith and Kurt Wolff, CBS Local


Leave a Reply