CANTON, Ohio (CBSNewYork/AP) — Giants great Michael Strahan is among the 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

In voting announced Thursday night, first-year nominees Derrick Brooks, Tony Dungy, Marvin Harrison and Walter Jones also made the cut. They are joined by Charles Haley, Kevin Greene, Andre Reed, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, John Lynch, Will Shields, Aeneas Williams, Morten Andersen and Edward DeBartolo Jr. Senior nominees Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey were announced in August.

The 46-member selection committee will vote Feb. 1 in New York, with a minimum 80 percent required for induction.

Strahan, Andersen — who kicked one season for the Giants — and Lynch are in their second year of eligibility. Shields is in his third year, Bettis his fourth, Brown and Williams their fifth, Reed his ninth, and Greene and Haley their 10th.

The modern-era finalists were chosen by the selection committee from a list of 126 nominees who were reduced to 25 semifinalists. Each finalist received a minimum vote of 80 percent.

To be eligible, modern-era players and coaches must have last played or coached more than five seasons ago.

A seven-time Pro Bowl defensive end, Strahan spent his entire 15-year career with the Giants, amassing a franchise-record 141.5 sacks. In 2001, he set the NFL’s single-season sack record with 22.5 — a mark that still stands today.

Strahan retired after the Giants won the Super Bowl following the 2007 season.

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories
[display-posts category=”news” posts_per_page=”4″]

(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)