HARTFORD, Conn. (CBSNewYork/AP) – Connecticut is now the first state in the union to have a law on the books to bring the minimum wage up to $10.10 an hour, as Gov. Dannel Malloy signed the legislation Thursday evening.
“We want to lift people out of poverty. No one should work 40 hours a week and live in poverty and that’s the status here in America right now,” Malloy told WCBS 880’s Steve Scott on Thursday afternoon before he signed the bill. “We want to lead that change and I’m hoping states surrounding us will join this effort.”READ MORE: New York Poised To Lift Most COVID Restrictions As Vaccination Rate Hovers Around 70%