NEW YORK (CBSNewYork/AP) — St. John’s junior guard D’Angelo Harrison has won the Haggerty Award, presented to the top Division I player in the New York Metropolitan area.

The award was announced Tuesday by the Met Basketball Writers Association.

READ MORE: 4 More Omicron Cases In New York State, Gov. Hochul Says

The 6-foot-4 Harrison, who averaged 17.5 points and 4.9 rebounds, is St. John’s all-time 3-point leader with 198, including 64 this season.

Steve Masiello of Manhattan, who is currently on leave while he finishes his undergraduate degree at Kentucky, was selected coach of the year for a second time. He led the Jaspers to a 28-5 record this season and the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference tournament title. The Jaspers lost 71-64 to Louisville in the NCAA tournament.

Guard Jon Severe of Fordham, who was fourth in the Atlantic 10 with a 17.3-point average, was selected rookie of the year.

READ MORE: Wake Today For Probationary Firefighter Vincent Malveaux

Joining Harrison on the All-Met first team are Sean Armand of Iona, George Beamon of Manhattan, Jason Brickman of LIU-Brooklyn, Fuquan Edwin of Seton Hall, and Jameel Warney of Stony Brook.

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories

[display-posts category=”sports” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”4″] 

MORE NEWS: Intrepid Museum Wreath-Laying Ceremony To Mark 80 Years Since Pearl Harbor Attack

(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)