NEW YORK (CBSNewYork/AP) — Those who can’t keep their hands off their devices while driving will now face stiffer penalties in New York.
Beginning Saturday, new drivers who are caught using a cell phone without a hands-free device could face a 120-day license suspension.READ MORE: Mr. & Mrs. Met Pass Out Free Face Masks To Commuters In Queens
A second offense will lead to a year-long suspension.
More experienced motorists will now face steeper fines for repeat offenses.
Drivers who are caught using a hand-held phone twice within an 18-month period will now be fined $250 — up from $200.READ MORE: New York City School Bus Fleet Will Be 100% Electric By 2035, Mayor De Blasio Says
The $50 fine for a first offense remained unchanged.
Gov. Andrew Cuomo said since driving habits start early, tougher penalties should remind younger drivers that texting while driving is unsafe and unacceptable.
Check Out These Other Stories From CBSNewYork.com:
[display-posts category=”news” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”4″]MORE NEWS: Upper Freehold Home Destroyed In Fire
(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)