CBS2-Header-Logo WFAN 1010WINS WCBS tiny WLNYLogo


NYC Voters Choose 2 Terms For Officials

View Comments
Mayor Bloomberg (Spencer Platt/Getty Images)

Mayor Bloomberg (Spencer Platt/Getty Images)


From our newsroom to your inbox weekday mornings at 9AM.
Sign Up

NEW YORK (AP) – New York City voters have passed a ballot measure seeking to limit New York City mayors and other officeholders to two consecutive terms.

That means elected officials will not be allowed to serve three consecutive terms.

The limit had long been two terms but was extended in 2008 when Mayor Michael Bloomberg decided he wanted to run again.

He hastily persuaded the City Council to change the law for him. He promised he would later appoint a commission to put the issue on the ballot, but New Yorkers returned to a two-term limit on Tuesday.

Tuesday’s vote marks the third time New York City voters have chosen a two-term limit for their officeholders. They did so by referndum twice in the 1990s.

View New York Races | View New Jersey Races | View Connecticut Races

View Comments