COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. (CBSNewYork/AP) — Four of baseball’s most revered Hall of Famers are being honored on Forever Stamps by the U.S. Postal Service.

New York Yankees great Joe DiMaggio, Boston Red Sox slugger Ted Williams, Willie Stargell of the Pittsburgh Pirates and Larry Doby of the Cleveland Indians will be honored on stamps to be available nationwide July 20.

The four men also will be feted in Cooperstown on that day as part of opening-day festivities for Hall of Fame weekend, when former Cincinnati shortstop Barry Larkin and Chicago Cubs slugger Ron Santo get inducted.

The stamps were designed by artist-illustrator Kadir Nelson of Los Angeles, and are based on historic photographs. Phil Jordan of Falls Church, Va., served as art director.

Will Joe D’s 56-game hitting streak ever be broken? Share your thoughts and offer your comments below…

(TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

Watch & Listen LIVE