It’s only been four months since Jake Owen released his latest single, “The One That Got Away,” and those four months were too long for him. So in the meantime, he conjured up a special four-song EP called Endless Summer to keep the new music train rolling.

“These days,” he said in an interview with Charlotte station WSOC, “if you can put out stuff instantly with iTunes and Spotify, I just figured we need to break the mold a bit and stop waiting a year or two before putting out new music.”

In keeping with his Florida roots, the EP consists of four summer-friendly anthems that fans can play year round. While “Summer Jam” features new tourmates and friends Florida Georgia Line, “Pass A Beer”, “Steal My Kisses” (which is a Ben Harper song), and “Surefire Feeling” have been sitting in Owen’s back pocket for years.

“[The EP] just kind of keep the summer rolling along,” he explained, before continuing that he’s had these songs on deck for awhile. Between not making cuts on previous albums and his inspiration from his own endless summers in Florida, Owen knew these songs had to be released.

Jake Owen’s Endless Summer EP is out now. Owen is also on tour this fall with supporting acts Florida Georgia Line and Love & Theft.

-Jodi Phillips, The New 103.7/Charlotte

Watch & Listen LIVE