Learner’s Permits To Be Required For Adult Drivers In Connecticut
HARTFORD, Conn. (CBSNewYork/AP) — New adult drivers in Connecticut will soon need a learner’s permit before taking the road test for a driver’s license.
The three-month permit will be mandatory for drivers 18 and older as of Wednesday.
The new law ends a 106-year practice of not requiring adult drivers in Connecticut to complete a training period before getting a driver’s license.
Under the new law, applicants will receive an adult learner permit after passing a 25-question knowledge test and a vision test. They will also be required to take an eight-hour safe driving practices course, which costs $125.
Department of Motor Vehicles Commissioner Melody Currey said cars are more sophisticated today, and traveling roads can be more dangerous for inexperienced drivers.
The Connecticut DMV expects more than 30,000 adult drivers each year will be affected.
Please leave your comments below…
(TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)