Rangers

NHL Playoff Schedule: Dates, Times For Islanders-Penguins, Rangers-Capitals

Isles To Kick Things Off Wed.; Blueshirts Follow Thurs.
Brandon Sutter #16 of the Pittsburgh Penguins slides to block a shot by Andrew MacDonald #47 of the New York Islanders at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum on March 22, 2013. (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

Brandon Sutter #16 of the Pittsburgh Penguins slides to block a shot by Andrew MacDonald #47 of the New York Islanders at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum on March 22, 2013. (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

New York Rangers
Upcoming Games

Buy Rangers Tickets Full Schedule
Sunday Dec 21
vs. Hurricanes
Tuesday Dec 23
vs. Capitals
Saturday Dec 27
vs. Devils
Islanders Central
Shop for Islanders Gear
Buy Islanders Tickets

NHL Scoreboard
NHL Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

Rangers Central
Shop for Rangers Gear
Buy Rangers Tickets

NHL Scoreboard
NHL Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – Drop that puck!

The NHL has announced its schedule for the opening round of the 2013 Stanley Cup playoffs, and there’s no shortage of intrigue for our locals in the Eastern Conference.

At No. 8, the surprising Islanders are in the postseason for the first time since 2007. But they’ll have to go against the top-seeded — and playoff-tested — Pittsburgh Penguins.

Meanwhile, the sixth-seeded Rangers will once again be facing Alex Ovechkin and the rival Washington Capitals.

New York Islanders-Pittsburgh Penguins

Wednesday, May 1: Islanders at Penguins, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 3: Islanders at Penguins, 7 p.m.

Sunday, May 5: Penguins at Islanders, noon

Tuesday, May 7: Penguins at Islanders, 7 p.m.

*Thursday, May 9: Islanders at Penguins, 7 p.m.

*Saturday, May 11: Penguins at Islanders, TBD

*Sunday, May 12: Islanders at Penguins, TBD

New York Rangers-Washington Capitals

Thursday, May 2: Rangers at Capitals, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 4: Rangers at Capitals, 12:30 p.m.

Monday, May 6: Capitals at Rangers, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, May 8: Capitals at Rangers, 7:30 p.m.

*Friday, May 10: Rangers at Capitals, 7:30 p.m.

*Sunday, May 12: Capitals at Rangers, TBD

*Monday, May 13: Rangers at Capitals, TBD

* if necessary

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories