CBS2-Header-Logo WFAN 1010WINS WCBS tiny WLNYLogo

Jets

Bill Belichick Disagrees With Controversial Flag That Helped Jets Stun Pats

'We Weren't On The Second Level When We Pushed Him'
Head coach Bill Belichick of the New England Patriots argues after the Patriots were called for a penalty on the Jets' field-goal attempt in the overtime period of the New York Jets' 30-27 win over the New England Patriots. (Photo by Ron Antonelli/Getty Images)

Head coach Bill Belichick of the New England Patriots argues after the Patriots were called for a penalty on the Jets’ field-goal attempt in the overtime period of the New York Jets’ 30-27 win over the New England Patriots. (Photo by Ron Antonelli/Getty Images)

Jets Central
Shop for Jets Gear
Buy Jets Tickets

NFL Scoreboard
NFL Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

NEW YORK SPORTS HEADLINES

Get our weekday morning briefs direct from the WFAN newsroom
Sign Up

EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. (CBSNewYork/AP) — Understandably, Patriots coach Bill Belichick was not a happy man on Sunday afternoon following his team’s controversial defeat.

Referee Jerome Boger explained in a pool report the penalty committed by Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones that negated a missed Jets field goal in overtime. Nick Folk soon made a 42-yarder to win the game 30-27 Sunday.

“We weren’t on the second level when we pushed him, no,” Belichick said following the disappointing loss. “You can’t push from the second level. I didn’t think we did that.”

Pool reporter Mike Reiss asked Boger: “Please explain the penalty that was called on No. 94 (Jones) on the field goal.”

Boger: “The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents’ formation.”

Reiss: “Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?”

Boger: “Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It’s any type of pushing action.”

Reiss: “Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?”

Boger: “No, the umpire’s flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.

Reiss: “And that’s a 15-yard penalty.”

Boger: “For unsportsmanlike conduct.”

The Patriots led, 21-10, after the first half. Gang Green responded with 17 unanswered points in the third quarter, but kicker Stephen Gostkowski hit two field goals in the fourth quarter to send the game into overtime.

Jones took full responsibility for committing the penalty when speaking to reporters.

“Yeah, it was something we talked about probably during camp and stuff, and it just slipped out of my mind,” he said. “So I just, it was just my mistake, nobody else’s. I’ve just got to man up and fix it next time.”

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories

(TM and © Copyright 2013 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2013 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)