INDIANAPOLIS (CBSNewYork/AP) — Helio Castroneves came up short in his bid to join the elite club of four-time winners of the Indianapolis 500, getting passed by Ryan Hunter-Reay with a lap remaining Sunday and then falling just short at the checkered flag.

The Brazilian driver was so disappointed by the narrow defeat that he slumped in his car, his helmet still on, trying to compose himself on pit road.

Castroneves won the race in 2001, 2002 and 2009. The only drivers to win it four times are A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears, who happens to serve as one of Castroneves’ spotters.

Afterward, Mears congratulated Castroneves on his second-place run.

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories

(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

More From CBS New York

Download Weather App

Watch & Listen LIVE