Several cars went up in flames late Friday afternoon at a junkyard in North Bergen, N.J.
Under the amended law, drivers can be fined between $25 and $75.
Now is the time for New Jersey motorists to make sure they have scrapers and brushes in their vehicles.
The agency will pay nearly $6.8 million to a Bergen County-based firm for the vans, minivans and minibuses. The cost will mostly be covered by federal stimulus money and various federal grants.
New Jersey has become the 30th state that no longer inspects privately owned motor vehicles for mechanical defects.