CORNWALL, NY (CBSNewYork) — Homeowners in the Orange County town of Cornwall will be able to receive help from the federal government to recover from Irene.

Orange County is among nine New York counties added to the list that are eligible for federal disaster assistance. Others include Rockland, Suffolk and Sullivan.

A creek in Cornwall that runs toward the Hudson River overflowed its banks, destroying a business complex. Many upstate communities were also seriously damaged due to flooding.

Brooklyn will also receive public assistance for debris removal and emergency repairs.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo said the damage caused to the state from Tropical Storm Irene will total $1 billion. Cuomo had identified 26 counties that saw “devastating effects” from Irene.

On Friday, Cuomo said in addition to Orange County, Saratoga, Sullivan, Clinton, Montgomery, Rockland, Suffolk, Warren and Kings counties were also added to the list.

Already on the list were Albany, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Schenectady, Schoharie, Ulster, Queens, Bronx, Richmond, Nassau, Rensselaer and Richmond counties.

For more information about FEMA assistance, visit

Watch & Listen LIVE