Connecticut Teens Waiting For Driver’s Licenses
HARTFORD, CT (WCBS 880) - Connecticut’s tough teen driving laws are keeping many teens from getting behind the wheel.
WCBS 880’s Paul Murnane On The Story
Under Connecticut’s rules, 16 and 17-year-old drivers can’t have their friends in the car, must have their parents ride along for a period of time and have to be off the road by 11 p.m.
That’s why a DMV spokesman tells the Connecticut Post that many teens are waiting until they’re older to get licenses.
Crashes involving 16 and 17-year-olds have fallen by nearly a third.
The week of Dec. 4-10 has also been declared as Safe Teen Driving Awareness Week by Gov. Dan Malloy in an effort to continue educating teens about the dangers of being an inexperienced driver.
Do you like Connecticut’s new rules for young drivers? Sound off in the comments section below!