NEW YORK (AP) — Roy Halladay added another victory to an almost perfect season on Tuesday, unanimously winning the NL Cy Young Award and becoming the fifth pitcher to earn the honor in both leagues.

The Philadelphia ace was an easy choice after leading the league with 21 wins and topping the majors in innings, shutouts and complete games.

Acquired by the Phillies from Toronto last December and immediately given a $60 million, three-year contract extension, Halladay did everything expected of him — and more.

Halladay threw a perfect game at Florida on May 29, firmly stamping this season as the Year of the Pitcher, then tossed a no-hitter game against Cincinnati in his playoff debut.

Halladay received all 32 first-place votes in results released by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Adam Wainwright of St. Louis was second and Ubaldo Jimenez of Colorado was third. San Francisco ace Tim Lincecum, who won the past two NL Cy Youngs, finished 11th.

Halladay went 21-10 with a 2.44 ERA and 219 strikeouts in his first season in the NL. The 33-year-old right-hander pitched 250 2-3 innings, nine complete games and four shutouts, living up to his billing for excellence and durability.

Voting for the award ended after the regular season. Three days later, Halladay completely overmatched the Reds, the top-hitting team in the NL, in their playoff opener.

Halladay split a pair of matchups with Lincecum in the NL championship series. The Giants won in six games, blunting the Phillies’ bid to reach the World Series for the third straight year.

The pitcher nicknamed “Doc” added to the 2003 AL Cy Young he won with the Blue Jays. He joined Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and Gaylord Perry as pitchers to earn the award in both leagues.

Halladay arrived in Philadelphia amid much fanfare. The night of the trade, he received a standing ovation from nearly 20,000 fans when he was introduced in person at a Philadelphia 76ers game.

He was dominant in an opening-day victory at Washington and won his first four decisions. The next month, he threw the 20th perfect game in major league history — only after got pinch-hitter Ronny Paulino to hit a grounder for the final out did Halladay break into a big smile.

It was a rare show of emotion. Halladay is well known for his focus and dedication to workouts. In spring training, it was not uncommon to see him in camp by 6 a.m.

Halladay earned his 18th win in mid-September. Despite all of their recent success, no Phillies had reached had won more than 17 since 1983, when Denny did it.

Halladay became the 13th pitcher to unanimously win the NL Cy Young, with Jake Peavy previously doing it in 2007. It has happened eight times in the AL, with Johan Santana last accomplishing the feat in 2006.

The Cy Young started in 1956. Through the 1966 season, there was just one selection from both leagues.

Halladay was the seventh Phillies pitcher to win the award. Along with Carlton, John Denny won in 1983 and reliever Steve Bedrosian got it in 1987.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press.


Leave a Reply