NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — Buckle up, New York!
With a holiday weekend approaching, New York is cracking down on drivers and passengers who don’t strap in.READ MORE: New York State Legislature Votes To Curb Gov. Cuomo's Emergency Powers
State and local police are holding a two-week crackdown on seat belts starting Monday and running through June 3.
1010 WINS’ Terry Sheridan reports
State law requires all passengers in the front seat to buckle up. Children under the age of 16 must also wear a seat belt regardless of what seat they’re in. All children under 8-years-old must be restrained in an appropriate child restraint system.READ MORE: Brooklyn Mom Wants NYC Apartments Inspected Annually After Parts Of Ceiling Crash Down On 12-Year-Old Son
“The small number of people not using the seat belt are also in general high-risk drivers,” Richard Simon with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration said. “They’re the ones more prone to drive drunk, driver aggressively and speed.”
WCBS 880’s Paul Murnane reports
Front seat passengers who are 16 and older may be fined up to $50 for not wearing their seat belt.
Drivers can be fined up to $100 for each passenger under the age of 16 not wearing a seat belt and get points on their license.MORE NEWS: Immersive Public Art Installation Now On Display At Domino Park
The crackdown is part of the national “Click It Or Ticket” campaign. New Jersey police will also be participating.