NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – President Barack Obama has declared Westchester and Rockland counties Major Disaster areas, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced today.

The declaration means the federal government can send aid to state and local governments and makes federal funding available to affected individuals. That assistance includes grants for temporary housing, home repairs, low-cost loans to cover property losses, and more.

READ MORE: COVID Anniversary: New York Marks 1 Year Since 1st Case Detected

“New York appreciates all the support we have received from Washington as we continue to recover from Hurricane Sandy,” Cuomo said.

New York, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Bronx, Nassau and Suffolk counties are also considered Major Disaster areas.

READ MORE: New Jersey Sports Arenas Reopen At Limited Capacity

To qualify for aid, individuals must first register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency. To do so, you can log on to, apply via mobile phone at, or call the following numbers:

  • 1-800-621-3362
  • For those who have speech disability and use TTY, call 1-800-462-7585
  • For those who use 711 or Video Relay Service, call 1-800-621-3362

For more disaster relief information and resources, click here.

MORE NEWS: NYPD: Man Charged With Murder In Quadruple Stabbing That Killed Good Samaritan

Cuomo also announced that the 600 additional New York National Guard were being deployed to Westchester and Rockland counties to help restore power to the area. More than 3,400 National Guard troops have been deployed state-wide in response to Sandy.