NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — The 79th Heisman Trophy will be handed out on Saturday night at the Downtown Athletic Club at 8 p.m.

In all likelihood, Florida State freshman quarterback Jameis Winston will walk away with the prestigious award. The 19-year-old has thrown for 38 touchdown passes and 10 interceptions, completing 68 percent of his passing attempts.

Winston has led the no. 1-ranked Florida State to the BCS National Championship Game, where the undefeated Seminoles will meet the 12-1 Auburn Tigers.

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel became the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy. He returns to New York hoping to become a repeat winner. Manziel has thrown for 3,732 passing yards, tossed 33 touchdowns and has been intercepted 13 times.

Winston and Manziel aside, four other Heisman finalists have been invited to New York.

Two running backs are finalists. Boston College running back Andre Williams has scored 17 rushing touchdowns for the Eagles and run for 2,102 yards. Auburn running back Tre Mason rushed for 1,621 yards and 22 touchdowns.

Quarterbacks AJ McCarron and Jordan Lynch are also attending. Alabama quarterback McCarron has thrown for 2,676 yards, 26 touchdowns and only committed five interceptions. Northern Illinois quarterback Lynch has thrown for 2,676 passing yards, has 23 passing touchdowns, seven interceptions and 22 rushing touchdowns.

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories