Baseball's Official ROY Award To Be Announced On November 10

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — A good omen, perhaps?

Mets starting pitcher Jacob deGrom has been named the Sporting News’ National League Rookie of the Year. The award was voted on by NL players. American League players voted for the AL Rookie of the Year.

Here’s the final tally:

1. Jacob deGrom, Mets – 31

2. Billy Hamilton, Reds – 27

3. Kolten Wong, Cardinals – 9

4. Joe Panik, Giants – 5

5. Ender Inciarte, Diamondbacks – 4

Others – 7

Jose Abreu was voted the AL Rookie of the Year.

In an organization that features Matt Harvey, Zack Wheeler and up-and-coming prospect Noah Syndergaard, deGrom came out of virtually nowhere this year to dominate major-league hitters.

In his first season in the big leagues, the 26-year-old went 9-6 with a 2.69 ERA in 22 starts. The right-hander’s command was excellent, as he struck out 144 and walked 43 in 140 1/3 innings pitched. Twice in 2014 he was named the NL Rookie of the Month.

Hamilton, deGrom’s main competition for the award, stole 56 bases but was caught 23 times. The Reds’ center fielder played tremendous defense but hit just .250 with a .292 on-base percentage.

The official Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) award winners for Rookie of the Year will be announced on November 10.

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories

[display-posts category=”sports” wrapper=”ul” posts_per_page=”4″]


Leave a Reply