TRENTON, N.J. (CBSNewYork/AP) — New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy has signed into law a measure that raises the hourly minimum wage to $15 an hour over the next five years.
The first-term Democrat signed the legislation Monday in Elizabeth alongside Democratic legislative leaders.READ MORE: NYPD: 4 Suspects In Custody After 3 Subway Riders Slashed Within Minutes In Lower Manhattan
The bill raises the current $8.85 minimum wage to $10 an hour in July, then hikes the rate by $1 in subsequent years until it reaches $15 in 2024.
New Jersey becomes the fourth state, along with the District of Columbia, to enact a phased-in $15 minimum wage. California, Massachusetts and New York have adopted similar proposals.READ MORE: Long Island Hispanic Bar Association Organizes Free Prom Dress Boutique For Freeport High School Students
Murphy promised to raise the rate as part of his campaign for governor.
Republicans and many businesses oppose the higher rate, saying it will raise costs.MORE NEWS: Crucifix Toppled, American Flag Destroyed At Brooklyn Church
(© Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)